Inspiration

What inspires you in your everyday life, career, or passion?

6
Rhapsody pic by Ted Mehl this performance was so much fun and so very special..I’ll never forget it!!;):)

Inspiration is a very important necessity for my career in ballet.  You want to be like the people who inspire you and sometimes that makes it hard to find who you are or can be.  With this being said, take what inspires you or who inspires you and use it to ignite your flame and you’ll do just fine!!  For me, I like watching dancers that have similar qualities, but also dancers that have different qualities.  I like to watch dancers that tell a story or who are able to express raw emotion through movement, and to me this is inspiring!!  One of my biggest inspirations is my family and God.  My mommy and my daddy really have taught me so much in life.  My daddy is the hardest worker I know!  He taught me that personal hard work can make even the smallest light shine!! 🙂  And I am so very thankful to God for him.  He was there from the very beginning and worked so hard with his own hands to keep me dancing!!  He even just finished designing and building his own motorcycle too!!  He inspires me to work as hard as him in my craft, ballet!! 🙂 My mommy is one of the most beautiful inside and out!!  God definitely placed her in my life when I need someone to lean on!  I look up to her everyday because seeing the smile on her face when I dance is what makes me light up with joy too!!  True beauty lies within and that’s for sure!!  When I was younger, I would always watch these amazing ballerinas on old video tapes.  For me it was so special to have someone that talented to look up to!  I never thought about it then, but now that I am older dancing and performing it so special to see even just one face light up!  “It’s the little things that make me do what I do!!” 🙂

Mu!!!!
pic by Shannon Reed

This year my studio that I used to train is performing Cinderella.  This ballet is special to me because it was the first ballet that I had my on “solo” part in.  I was Cinderella’s cat, and you know I love my kitty cats.  This year a younger student has been so excited to have been cast as the cat in Cinderella, knowing that I too was once the kitty cat!!  This makes me so happy to know I have inspired another little dancer!! 🙂 My teacher who danced at NBS (Canada’s National Ballet School) and Tulsa Ballet, has always been an inspirations to me!!  She taught my first ballet class and I remember thinking, “I don’t know how I am going to do it yet, but I want to be like her, I want to be a ballerina!!”  As I kept dancing through the years I learned so much from her and all my amazing teachers.  Of course my “thing” was always having bent knees in my arabesque!!  haha, still is a little!! 🙂 Working on it!!  One of the most important things I learned from her was to never be shy!  She would always say, “Kira, it does not matter if you are the smallest one in the class, just do your thing and stand in the front of the class.  And always be bright before every performance.  My first performance of Clara in the Nutcracker was so magical because of her and what inspires me most about her is the fact that she is such a lady of God!!

screenshot_20170110-212655.png
Maria Kochetkova

Seeing younger dancers look up to me reminds me of when I was in their place and that little wink or glance you receive from an older dancer is so special, especially at that age.  You are so willing and for me watching others dancers inspires me to be the best that I can be.  And if I can inspire younger or older generations, that makes me feel purpose.  And that is what inspires me!!

I never imagined that I would be an inspiration to others.  I perform onstage in front of hundreds of people, my family, and God.  And when my dance is over or I finish the ballet, I always thank God for dancing with me through every step, every movement, like He is right there with me.  This makes it so much more fun, through every pirouette He is there too!!  Even if it is just one person out of an audience of hundreds that smiles or feels joy or emotion through my dancing, I know I have done my job.  To be an inspiration, to work hard, feel the burn, and to fly onstage is why I dance!!

Some of the ballerinas who have inspired me since I started dancing have something different about each dancer.  Joy Womack is an American ballerina who moved to Russia to dance because it was her dream to receive Russian training and dance in a company there, and I admire that!  She went for what so wanted and that is amazing!!  I am a strong believer of doing what makes you happy in life!!  I believe God created us to use or passions to our fullest ability, this is what makes us beautiful humans!!  Lauren Lovette is with New York City Ballet, my favorite ballet company in the USA!!  She is such a fun dancer to watch, always joyful and always true to herself!!  Alina Cojocaru, she is very special to me, a true artist and so kind hearted onstage!!  Alina was one of the first ballerina’s I started watching on video along with Polina Seminova!!  I absolutely love Dana Benton’s dancing!  I had the opportunity to see her perform Petite Mort and take her class!!  She inspires me to dance the best I can dance, to be bright, break limits and though she be small she is mighty!! 🙂

(check them out):

  • Alina Cojocaru
  • Caitlin Hoffman
  • Dana Benton
  • Lauren Lovette
  • Polina Seminova
  • Maria Kochetkova
  • Marianela Nunez
  • Joy Womack (Joy has a youtube, she vlogs her life as an American ballerina in Russia! Check it out, it’s pretty cool!!)

Here is a clip of one of my favorite ballerinas from Colorado Ballet, Dana Benton

 

 

Leave a Reply

